Daily Outfit 10/17/09

October 18, 2009 at 8:59 pm | Posted in fashion, Life, Lumpy | 11 Comments
Tags: , , , , , ,
To the symphony!

To the symphony!

My boyfriend took me to the symphony last night πŸ™‚ This is what I wore! I didn’t know what kind of clothing everyone else would be wearing, or even who would make up the rest of the audience, so I wanted to wear something nice &sophisticated but also lolita. The result? Gothic-ero-steampunk-inspired casual lolita!

ee! peeking petticoat!!

ee! peeking petticoat!!

Rundown:

  • Sweater: Banana Republic
  • Belt &hairbow: Forever 21
  • Skirt: Meta
  • Leggings, boots: offbrand
just playing with curves &color filters, really

just playing with curves &color filters, really

Nothing to write home about, just thought it was pretty πŸ™‚

The symphony was amazing – they had a guest pianist who was so passionate about the music that he was almost jumping off the bench at certain parts. He was playing a huuuuuge old grand piano and wore a tuxedo shirt with jabot-esque bowtie and a tailcoat. The rest of the orchestra was phenomenal as well, of course, and the Maestro was really very much fun to watch, as he was also very spirited and animated. They also had a harpist, a celeste-player, a few double bassists, A GONG, and a good amount of instruments I’ve never even heard of. It was a beautiful evening and I’m hugely looking forward to their accompaniment to La BohΓ¨me in March (in the original Italian with “super-titles” – how does one subtitle a live performance?). To top it all off, after the symphony, we got… Pizza from Domino’s. Aren’t we refined?

11 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I very much like your outfit!
    the symphony is nice, isn’t it? πŸ™‚

    • Thank you! It was wonderful, I can’t wait for their next performance πŸ™‚

  2. I really love that outfit. It looks great.

    • Thank you πŸ™‚

  3. You look wonderful!

    • Thanks!

  4. You look so pretty in black! I love your outfit!

    • Thank you! I wear a lot of black in daily wear, but I always find myself going overly saccharine in lolita. No idea why!

  5. The outfit is beautiful and unique! Very lovely. I’m glad you enjoyed the symphony; it’s very underrated.

    For operas, the usually use a projector to show the subtitles above the stage.

    • Thank you! I really loved going, it was my first time &they were really very good. I’ll definitely be returning!

      Ahh, I see. that’s what we were talking about, but I was just incredibly amused at the mental image of someone in the front holding up handwritten cue-card style subs, ala Eddie Izzard (admittedly, it’s an image Victoria Suzanne put into my head XD; )

  6. You are so cute!


Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.