Making a Lolita Valentine

February 8, 2010 at 4:14 am | Posted in Lumpy | 1 Comment
Tags: , , , ,

Valentine’s is drawing near again! I think I covered pretty much all the bases last year with my Valentine Compendium (which I’ll be compiling &providing links to in the next few days), so this year’s coverage will be pretty minimal. Last year, I talked a lot about relationships. This year, I’ve decided to make a brief note about loving other lolitas, and what better way to do that than to pimp Lolita Valentines?

Lolita Valentines is a livejournal communities where lolitas, members or not, can submit anonymous love letters to the lolita-verse in the form of decorated images they make themselves.  It’s the perfect place to profess your undying love for BABY, the Stars Shine Bright, praise a perfect coordinate from one of our many photo sharing communities, or gush about how much fun a weekend with friends was. However, it does not get nearly as much love as it should! While every so often there will be a post of 100+ love letters, far too often there aren’t nearly enough to combat all the bad mojo from our weekly dramas. Today I was wondering why that was. Maybe it’s just for lack of knowledge. Thus, I will demonstrate the proper way to make a Lolita Valentine:

picture snuck from Facebook

First, choose a picture to use as a base. I chose this one of my darling snookyface Victoria Suzanne. Open up any photo editing program you have – I’m using PS7, but anything you want is fine. Now, go crazy! I like to do any normal photo editing I think it needs – playing with curves or brightness, fill layers, whatever – and then some fun text &brushes or textures. Here’s mine, totally breaking any anonymity:

Sorry, loli_valentine!

I broke the rules this week – everyone will know this is from me! Ah well, it’s for a good cause- the education of the masses! Also, really, this post is mostly random pimpage for the community – love your fellow loli, girls! It’s that time of year, right? Your final step is to upload the completed image to tinypic.com and submit them to the weekly submission post. Now, get creative, ladies, and make some valentines!!

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. OMG O3O ♥♥♥ thank you dollface!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

