Doe Deere Blogazine: Winner!!

August 30, 2009 at 12:31 am | Posted in Life, Lumpy | 14 Comments
Tags: , , , , ,
Lime Crime: Candyfuture line

Lime Crime's new Candyfuture lipstick line

How many of you follow Doe Deere Blogazine? (to those who don’t – why not?!) Those who do will be familiar with her Lime Crime makeup company: Their slogan is “So bright, it’s illegal!” Those who know me are not surprised at this affinity. To check out Lime Crime, click the link above.

So when Doe announced her new lipstick line based on a technicolor future of holograms and unicorns, and, more importantly, her vignette-writing contest with its prize of a free shade of the new lipstick, how could I resist?! I knew I had to submit SOMETHING. Struggling with hundreds of ideas zipping around my brain on Beautiful Rockets , I finally found two that I could sufficiently expand upon. And one of them was chosen!

My winning vignette for the shade Airborne Unicorn:

The Airborne Unicorn had been hailed by the presses as the new “It” bar, though really it was a nightly gala on board a huge, neon spacecraft that loaded up with party-goers before spending the night lazily floating among the stars. The main room was painted a glittering purple, a somehow neon lavender, and the hovering disco balls that flitted around the crowd splayed rainbows on everything – playing with dancers’ hair, flitting over the collarbones of women leaning seductively against the bar. A waitress in a glittering, curve-hugging white tutu mini-dress, the rainbows playing on her cheekbones, offers two newcomers – first night aboard, how exhilarating! – a tray of truffles and perfect, hovering spheres of liquid. She batted her rhinestoned eyelashes and her lips curved into a sensuous smirk as they took the signature cocktail, named after the bar itself. The girls pressed their lips against the spheres, caressing the mirror-cold surface as though kissing the drink, and breathed deeply the smoke-and-air-and-liquid concoction. It tasted like flowers and cotton candy, and when they raised their heads to look around, it left a purple glaze, the lavender both pastel and neon at once, coating their lips in the signature color of the Airborne Unicorn.

Find Airborne Unicorn in the top right!

Find Airborne Unicorn in the top right!

I am so honored!! Thank you so much, Doe! To see the other winner, click the image above 🙂

Now… which color do I choose? Suggestions, anyone?

14 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Well done.
    The lipsticks look so lovely (I’m a sucker for sweet packaging) i want them all.
    I wish i wan’t in th UK sometimes with pooey import tax 😦

    • Thank you!

  2. Congrats Aly!! I really like the lavender shade:)

    • Thanks! 🙂

  3. wooohaaah! Congrats! I loooove limecrime make-up, it is the brightest and the best!

    • Thank you!! It really is amazing. I got a sample of eyeshadow at Dances of Vice &I absolutely love it *_*

  4. Waaah, that was your vignette? That’s so cool- I loved that one. All of the imagery it created was so clear.

    I kind of want to see “No She Didn’t” used in a loli outfit…

    • Thanks so much! Imagery is my thing, usually I include far too much- I tried to cut down on it while still leaving in the barebones 😛

      I would love to! Sort of Alice Deco or fairyloli would be really pretty, I think!

  5. Wow, congratulations! I didn’t realize that was yours when I was reading the vignettes! I would go with that one (Airborne Unicorn) or maybe Great Pink Planet.
    I have been reading your blog for awhile, but I’m not sure how to follow as I’m on blogspot. Anyhow, I do enjoy your blog very much!


    Cocoa

    • Thank you! I was thinking Great Pink Planet but I don’t know if that particular shade would go with my skin tone 😦 but thank you for the suggestion! 🙂

      &as far as following goes, I know wordpress doesn’t do it – anyone I know who uses blogspot usually links me via their blogroll, if they use one. Thanks so much for your interest, though!! 🙂

  6. Thank you for your comment! And that is a good point you made – I suppose it would be good for Halloween Lolita … I think will link back to it at some point in October.
    I have read that book, actually, when I was doing research for a paper I had to write for my English class during my freshman year. It’s very good. I was aware of the dark undertones to the story before, but that really helped clarify and brought up some new points, etc. It’s kind of sad that such a fairy tale as Little Red Riding Hood should be so dark, but I suppose many of them are. But I find that makes it even more appealing to me. :p
    Thanks again for visiting me!

  7. Thats very cool! I love doe deere.

  8. I just started reading your blog today and I absolutely love it, I think you do wonderful things and I love lolita, however this blog post kind of struck a bad chord with me. I’m really into makeup and have been for a while, and so I follow with the ‘indie’ makeup community closely. I don’t know if you’ve heard about the Doe Deere and LimeCrime scandal, and if you have, sorry for posting this-I just figured some information wouldn’t be a bad thing if you haven’t.
    Here’s a website with a lot of the information:
    http://www.lipsticksandlightsabers.com/2010/01/lime-crime-beneath-glitter.html
    tl;dr-Lime Crime repackages mica powder from TKB Trading with a huge mark-up, Doe Deere threatened to sue a blogger for posting a not-so-positive review, and for shades she does make herself she does not use a sanitary environment.

    • Hi Alex-
      I know about the whole scandal, but I only learned about it recently. As you can see, this article was posted in 2009, before the article you link me to was even written, when information on it was not as easy to find as it is now. I treated this as a writing contest, an interesting way to hone my skill, and didn’t really bother to find out more about Doe Deere before entering. I thought my entry to the contest was pretty cool, so I posted it here as well. I actually no longer use this blog and have switched to Blogger- when I did so, it was clearer to me that Lime Crime is not all it’s cracked up to be, and so I didn’t bother transferring this entry to my new blog because I don’t want to support that. However, it seemed stupid to delete the entry here, so here it has stayed.

      Thanks for passing on the information, though. If you’d like, please check out my new blog here!
      http://herlumpiness.blogspot.com/

      ~Aly


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

