Ready? Break!

December 26, 2008 at 4:27 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 2 Comments
Tags: ,
Oh so snowy! Picture of the lovely Julia

Picture of the lovely Julia

So, ladies and gentlemen, I don’t know about you, but I’m on winter break! I’m pretty sure everyone in the Northern Hemisphere is (Summer break for you Southerners?), but I’m excited – grades are in (at a GPA of 3.76, I’d say that’s cause for a break anyway!), the stress of the holidays is pretty much over, and it’s time to relax with a nice blanket, a good book, hot cocoa… lots of naps… Food Network reruns… constantly refreshing EGL and my favorite blogs ten times a minute…

….Who am I kidding? I’m going stir-crazy, and it’s only been a week! I’m sure we’ll all get like this at some point this vacation, so here are some fun things I thought of to break (get it! As in, vacation? Ah-HA!) the doldrums a bit – lolita-style, of course.

  • Get a penpal – snail- or e-mail, both having significant advatages and disadvantages. With  letters, you get to use cute stationary and stickers, and include drawings or photos, but you have to wait much longer for a response.  Online, you get almost instant satisfaction and have a vast array of platforms on which to communicate – facebook, myspace, twitter, livejournal – and you can always share  the joy of the latest lolcats, but it’s much less personal. You can find communities for finding penpals on LiveJournal.
  • Bake! Or cook – nothing is more soothing than a warm, freshly-made delicious, whether it’s a fresh fruit tart or a simple bowl of oatmeal (well, what’d you expect me to say?), and it’s a great way to bond if you choose to share it with someone – a lover, parent, or the little kids next door. Also, packages of homemade cookies can’t be beat! Nothin’ says lovin’ like somethin’ from the oven!
  • A swap! My friends and I had a holiday party last week while I was homebound after surgery, and it included a tea party, ornament-decorating since all of us either celebrated Christmas or our families did, and best of all, a swap! I gave lots of lovelies and ended up with a cute off-brand skirt, an In the Starlight JSK that has been gloriously modded, and best of all, BABY’s pink Hawase Doll OP! It is a marvelous, thrifty way to grow your wardrobe, and it’s better to try on than compare measurements and cross your fingers that it fits!
  • Hot drinks! Cocoa is especially fun to experiment with – we recently introduced my young niece and nephew to my mother’s homemade hot cocoa, which is delicious and was really sweet (pun!) to witness – this doesn’t have to come from a packet?! Youcan try making your hot chocolate out of bittersweet chocolate and butterscotch chips, with crushes toffee bar on top, and you lolis of age should have fun experimenting with raspberry or peppermint liqueur. And never, ever for get the marshmellows!
  • Make paper snowflakes and tape them to your windows, especially if you live in a warm climate. If you want something more loli, try cutting the general shape out of a precut paper doiley – caution drivers, slippery conditions due to an unexpected lace storm coming in from the east!
  • Use quilts. Use them by the hundreds. Go to a thrift store/Goodwill for cheapcheapcheap ones with history and sentiment.
  • Make or buy blends of herb for the bath, and sit and soak until the water goes cold – then, drain some of it out and refill it! Never-ending cycle of awesome, warmth, and lovely soft skin. Lavender and chamomile is a lovely, soothing blend for before bedtime, and mint is invigorating in the morning, and freh leaves/flowers will secreet oils to scent your skin. Props if you have a nice flannel nightgown or bloomers-and-cami PJ set to cuddle around in afterwards!
  • Speaking of cuddling, do it whenever possible. With your lover or friends or even on strangers on the bus (no, no, no, never do that in loli! Shame on you for believing me!)- everyone gets cold! If they let you put your icy feets on them, congratulations. You’ve found a winner – now never ever ever let that person out of your life. I don’t know who decided that lolitas have to be solitary beasts (damn you, Novala!), but I highly disagree.
  • Make it Christmas every day! Even if you don’t celebrate the holiday, it’s got some great decorations – who doesn’t love fairy lights?! Hang up sparkly tinsel garlands, put up icicle lights around your bedroom ceiling, and decorate ornaments to hang with ribbon from the light fixtures – my friends and I decorated pink, light blue, and white ornaments with glitter, rhinestones, and ribbons, and I’m planning on decorating my apartment with them – if, of course, my boyfriend doesn’t mind. Don’t give me that look! It’s his house too!
  • Burn scented candles. It’s amazingly soothing, and will save you on electricity bills! Incense is always nice, too.
  • Buy an antique teacup and vow to use it every day this winter.
  • Learn to knit and make yourself a few nice scarves! Or just embellish some premade ones. I’m planning a few tutorials for that sort of thing!

I’m only scratching the surface here, guys – there are billions of loli ways to fill your time off, whether it’s from school or work, and the rest of your winter. Anyone have any suggestions? I’d love to hear them!

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I definitely second that writing to a pen pal idea. Pen pals are so fun!

    I also use my breaks to
    1. Go on dates with my boyfriend. During the school year, we live over 70 miles away from each other. Needless to say, we don’t often have the opportunity to go on dates, or even just hang out.
    2. Catch up on my reading. During the school year, reading becomes such a chore because it’s required. During break, because I have no one telling me what to read and when to read it by, I read up a storm =D
    3. I like to use my breaks as a time to reorganize my room, too.

  2. […] my fluffy white yard!) make paper snowflakes and hang them everywhere. I’ve recommended this before and I will continue to do so, as paper snowflakes are the […]


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

